All Saints Church, Barton Stacey

All Saints Church at Barton Stacey stands on one of the oldest sites of continuous Christian worship in England. For over 1,000 years this parish church has been at the centre of the community. This page gives an outline of the church today and links back to its beginning.  The church is open to worshippers and to visitors.

There is a service every Sunday at 10.30, and the first Sunday of every month is a Family Service. 

Key Dates

Mentioned in Domesday Book at a value of 15 shillings

Late 12th Century
Rebuilt in Norman transitional style

Advowson granted by William the Conqueror to the de Piste family

Advowson transferred to Abbey of Lanthony – originally in Wales, but then moved to Gloucester

Mid 13th Century
Major rebuilding in early English (Gothic) style

c. 1510
Additional building of fine turreted and embattled tower

Advowson granted by Henry VIII to the Dean and Chapter of Winchester – who are still the present patrons

The church is noted as being in a “ruinous state”

Church shelters villages made homeless by a fire which swept the village

Foundations reseated and seating replaced

Pine arch roof added to the chancel and open wooden porch replaced

Chancel pillars reset, transept wooden floors replaced

Present pulpit and lectern installed

Carved wooden memorial erected to parishioners who died in World War One

Replaced brick floor with tiles and repaired the vestry in the North transept

Major restoration of stone and flint work

Major refurbishment of church facilities and fittings


Building Highlights

16th Century work with big carved pinnacles at the corners and a row of grinning heads round the top

12th Century work of Purbeck marble – traces of the original leather hinge and clasp

Font cover
From 15th Century rood screen from Longparish church – badly restored

Two Norman columns at the west end – the last remnants of the Norman church – the northernmost column is noticeably out of line when viewed from the east

South aisle
War memorial, wooden screen carved with the names of sixteen men of the parish who died in the First World War (1914-1918).

Chancel arch
Narrow eastern octagonal pillars each supporting four arches

Unusually set east of the chancel arch

Medieval floor tiles – similar to those in Winchester cathedral

Altar table
17C Flemish work, with boldly carved figures of faith, hope, and charity

West wall
Two hatchments – arms of Sir Henry Wright-Wilson (died 1832) of Cranbourne Manor and his widow Francis (nee Brundell-Bruce) (died 1836)

South wall
Above the door – arms of George III (1760-1820)

South east corner – base of a cross said to be from Llanthony Abbey

War Memorial

The War Memorial at Barton Stacey is located inside the church at the west end of the south aisle. The memorial is in the form of a wooden screen, carved with the names of the sixteen men of the parish who died in the First World War (1914-1918). The memorial is headed “Greater love hath no man”.

Names on the Barton Stacey War Memorial

  • Herbert Doswell
  • Charles Warwick
  • John Patrick Waters
  • Michael Kirkman Hodgson
  • Maurice Kirkman Hodgson
  • Sidney Doswell
  • Edward Cook
  • Gerald Howard Holbrooke
  • Herbert Walter Smith
  • Leonard Wedge
  • Ernest Horne
  • Frederick Brown
  • Frederick Broad
  • Victor Cook
  • Albert Edward Hillier
  • Lancelot David Hillier


Incumbents of All Saints Church

…. Walter de Saham
1292 William le Palmer
1308 John of Barrington
1329 William Loveryng
1349 Walter Flemmyng
1361 Thomas Lombard
1382 Edward Cooke
1426 John Saye
1430 William Colyns
1434 John Banks
1443 William Leyghton
1448 William Dayster
1452 John Rawlyns
1462 Thomas Beeke
1472 Malachi Burnham
1475 William Danyell
1482 Robert Melton
…. William Bucknell
1507 Henry Osborne
…. William Wye
1532 Thomas Vaughan
1547 Henry Lowe
1570 Henry Mall
1595 William Elmes
1603 Thomas Gough
1613 William Tyndall
1613 Nicholas Donnell
1632 Leonard Alexander
1642 Robert Kercher
1645 Owen Morgan
1661 James Garth
1669 David Standish
1681 Jonathan Falkner
1684 Thomas Gray
1693 Thomas Riley
1713 Walter Garrett
1737 Philip Tennant
1738 William Jourd
1777 John Dennis
1789 Sir Peter Rivers Gay Bt
1790 Thomas Rennell
1791 Robert Hare
1797 Nicholas Westcombe
1814 Thomas Rennell
1840 Henry Middleton
1844 William Vaux
1845 Francis Swanton
1872 Abraham Horwill Stogdon
1892 Ulric Zwinglius Rule
1909 Arthur Charles Franklin
1923 Frederick Rowland Dawson
1924 Gerald Claude Randolph D’Arcy
1958 Cecil Beaumont Verity
1969 John Humphrey Norman Llewelyn
1985 Derek John Cottrill
1993 William Robson
2000 Christopher Finch
2008 Mark David Bailey